Yes, you can live your best life!

Happiness versas Contemptment!

Posted on: May 28, 2017

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about Happiness and Contentment. I’m 39 years old and I live a blessed life compared to many. No, I’m not super rich nor do I get to take exotic vacations every year. But, I’m healthy, I have a roof over my head, food in my tummy and clean water to drink. Those things alone put me ahead of many. I find in this life I’m happy because I’m content. You see to me, happiness is a feeling and can come and go like the wind. But, true contemptment is a state of mind and being and will not change regardless of the situation. 
I remember setting certain goals in life and I just knew that if I met those goals it would make me happy. But, in reality when I did eventually meet my set goals, yes I was happy for a moment. But then that moment passed and I was off to find the next thing that would bring me happiness. 

You see, with the pursuit of happiness you’ll never be happy because happiness is fluent and can change like the weather. You can look at other people’s lives and wish you were happy like them. But who said they were actually happy? Smiling for a picture is an easy task. Yes, they are on a great vacation, but are they in debt for that moment of fun? Yes those relationships people protray on social media seem like matches in Heaven, but you never know what someone is going through secretly. I’ve learned early on to never envy the appearance of anything. 

But with contentment you’re not easily swayed by the emotion of happiness. I remember when I lived in an apartment with my children. Sure one day I wanted to provide them with a single family home with a yard. But until that time happened, I treated that apartment like it was a million dollar masion. I was content because it supplied our needs and I kept it cleaned because it was a gift from God. I truly believe God won’t bless you with more until you learn to appreciate what you already have. 

So daily I practice the art of contentment. Being content makes me happy. Being content helps me to focus on the blessings of my now. Being content helps me to appreciate my present. Yes, I have goals I want to accomplish in life. But on my way to accomplishing them, I’m content with the pace. 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

Read Previous Blog Post

Follow Me on Twitter

