Yes, you can live your best life!

Loving the unloving!

Posted on: September 26, 2016

I am totally a people person, but sometimes liking people can be difficult. I say this because when I consider you a friend, I give 110%. But, often times i’m the one who gets the short end of the stick in the friendship/relationship. 

Because I’m a natural extrovert (and a dental hygient) my first instinct is to engage in conversation. I love to talk and encourage people. But, sometimes people can be really mean. I try to remain focused because their actions have nothing to do with me. I was just the one on the receiving end from the stress they were enduring. 

For example the other day, I brought my patient back to begin his appointment. This is a gentleman I see every six months, who is generally a upbeat person. But, this time he had a chip on his shoulder. I had him sit in my chair and I asked, “How are you today?” His response was, “I’m here!” It kinda took me off guard cause it was kinda a smart out the mouth answer. But, I let it go and proceeded to clean his teeth. 

Unbeit known to me until he told me, he also had an appointment with the dentist right after his cleaning in which he was to have some teeth extracted and other stuff completed. Apparently this had him on edge. 

When he first responded in a different manner, I am so glad I focused on the man I previously knew and not the anxious one sitting in my chair that day. For one moment, I didn’t like him, but God reminded me to still show love regardless. And i’m glad I did. 

My personality never changed despite how I was responded to and I believe God took noticed and was pleased by my actions. 

So remember when you encounter someone who may be  short with you in their responses or manner, it may not have anything to do with you. Unfortunately, you are just the receiver for all the stress and pressure they’ve endured. Yes, at that moment it’s hard to  like the person, but you must always show love. ❤

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

Read Previous Blog Post

Follow Me on Twitter

