Yes, you can live your best life!

Angry, but not bitter!

Posted on: June 6, 2016

I just watched a clip with David Chappelle as he talked to the late Maya Angelou. At one point in the discussion he eluded to the fact that in the 60’s with so many assassinations of great people why wasn’t she angry. She replied that she was angry and that it was okay to be angry for what happened. But, you can never allow bitterness to take a hold of your heart. Bitterness is like poison. This is so very true and once I learned this principle I was free…a new person.

I got a divorce in 2011, and after which I was full of emotions. I had heard about a class I could take at my church for those going through a divorce called, Divorce Care. Didn’t know too much about it, but thought I would give it a shot. They even had divorce care classes for the children, in which I thought was awesome.

In this class, I learned that it’s ok to be angry. I never knew that. I thought being angry was like committing a sin. I wanted to scream, shout and throw a fit due to how I felt I was treated, but I held it inside due to fear that God would be upset with me. There were many references in the Bible that showed it’s okay to be angry. Even God was angry at different times in the Bible, but the only thing is…you can not hold on to anger because it will turn into bitterness and that is not pleasing to God.

I will say, I believe one of my worst, yet best attributes is that I let things go. In time I just get over it and let it go. Life is too short. Now that I have learned that it’s ok to be angry, I embrace it (never denying my emotions), but I never allow it to take up residence in my heart. I don’t ever want my anger to turn into bitterness nor hatred.

I am still a work in progress, but I can now be free in knowing I’m normal and God is not going to cast me into Hell for getting angry. I love who I am and I love people. Do I agree with everything people do? Nope, but I can’t focus on that. I have to focus on being the best person I can be at all times. Praying and slow breathing help me to not “punch a person in the face.” LOL!! But, in the end, I am human. God knows I am trying. We talk daily and he helps me to not sweat the small stuff because he has a greater plan for my life.

So be encouraged, there’s nothing wrong with you. Embrace your emotions, but don’t allow them to set up shop. Learn to let stuff go and be FREE!

1 Response to "Angry, but not bitter!"

Very inspirational, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

Read Previous Blog Post

Follow Me on Twitter

