Yes, you can live your best life!

Defining who I am

Posted on: March 28, 2016

image

I remember when me and my ex husband divorced, my “status” changed in many ways. On forms, I now had to check divorced, as opposed to married. I also had to come to grips with another toe curling stereotype title, single mom.

I hated that title more than anything. At the time of my separation and divorce I attended a very large church. Every Sunday I would see different couples file in with their children and there I was, all alone in a seat with no one beside me who was my partner. The groups I now had to join were either for women in general, or for single parents. When people found out I didn’t have a husband, although they were kind and meant no harm, to me they would always have this pity look on their face. Internally, this took a toil on me. I didn’t want to be different, but to some degree I was. So eventually, although it was difficult, I had to learn to embrace my role as a single mom.

Years went by and I finally accepted this is what God allowed to happen in my life. This season had a purpose. I needed to learn some lessons he was trying to teach before I could be blessed with a new mate. I had to learn that although I may be a “single mom” that I would always be a child of the King. You see, God doesn’t care about labels and statues, he cares about our heart. Over time and after many nights of crying and bargaining with God, I finally surrendered my will and ways and got on board with what God was trying to do in my life.

But, I still desired to be married again. Being a single female I felt uncovered by the “spiritual” protection from a God- fearing man. I knew the design God intended for the family to look like, and I wanted that back.

In time and after much prayer, God in his lovingness introduced me to a wonderful man. Although neither one of us is perfect, we accept our differences and choose to love regardless. I can honestly say he is my soul mate. One day we will become one and my title will change again. Finally, I will be able to check “married” when filling out forms as my heart desired. But what I love the most is that my status with God has never changed. He has loved me through each change, storm, hill and valley.

The greatest status I can ever claim is being a child of God. And because I am his child, he will never leave not forsake me. So whatever your “martial” status is today, don’t get so caught up in titles. Focus on your relationship with Christ because that is the only one that will last through eternity.

Just my thoughts…Adrian

2 Responses to "Defining who I am"

Good Morning!! Love your blog! So I nominate you for the Liebster Award! I hope you accept! Here is my post on the award. https://motherwifeme.wordpress.com/2016/03/29/award-liebster-1st-my/
🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

Read Previous Blog Post

Follow Me on Twitter

