Yes, you can live your best life!

People pleaser…Not!

Posted on: June 17, 2015

It’s easy to fall into the trap of caring about what people think.  As children we are taught to obey and do what our parents or adults tell us what do it. “Eat this,” “Say that,” “Go here!” “Don’t go there!” It’s a never ending cycle that could cause a weak minded individual to become almost robotic. Children are customary people pleasers, but at some point when maturity sets in, people need to think for themselves and have a mind of their own.

I remember when I moved away from home for the first time. Not only did I move out of the house, I moved to another state towards the area where the events of 9/11 took place. My friends and family couldn’t believe I was doing this. Of course my mom didn’t want me to go, but I had to do what I felt I needed to do at that time. And without knowing a single person, I set sail and headed east. My time there was amazing. I grew and matured a lot while there. I learned valuable lessons that have helped me to become the person I am today.

Interestingly enough, as a good wife I followed my now ex husband to the south. Of course, once again people didn’t want to see me leave and had tons of opinions regarding my leaving. But, despite what people thought I should do, God had a hidden plan and he knew years later my mom would be diagnosed with cancer and I would be living in an area that has the best facilities to treat people with cancer. Praise God! And now my mom is doing very good after her treatments.

Yes it is good to talk to people about different things regarding your life, but one must always remember to listen to God first. He can see tomorrow, so it’s best to trust him and not the opinions of others.

There will always be people who are not gonna to like you or the decisions you make, accepting that will lead to peace of mind. Be committed to living your life the best way you know how. If people want to support you and wish you well, awesome, if not, that’s okay too because you weren’t created to make people happy.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

Read Previous Blog Post

Follow Me on Twitter

